# Who does Union Pacific Corporation pay? Who are its key suppliers?
Canonical: https://valuechain.wiki/union-pacific · Facet: suppliers · Updated: 2026-09-24T12:56:00.739532+00:00 · Source: ValueChain.wiki (cited money-flow graph)

**Citable summary**: Union Pacific Corporation's confirmed suppliers/cost counterparties include Wabtec, Martin Marietta Materials, Inc., Vulcan Materials Company plus 1 undisclosed/aggregate relationship. Per the valuechain.wiki graph: 4 cost edges, backed by 4 dated sources, 0 of them primary filings (as of 2026-09-24).

### 노퍽 서던 (high)  → /norfolk-southern.md
- metric: Amount $20B · pending acquisition · Expected cash consideration for the pending acquisition of Norfolk Southern
- note: Union Pacific entered into a merger agreement to acquire Norfolk Southern on July 28, 2025. It expects to pay about $20 billion in cash and issue approximately 224.8 million Union Pacific shares, but the transaction remains pending regulatory approval.
- [confirms] U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service (EN, research, published 2026-02-12) https://www.ams.usda.gov/sites/default/files/media/GTR02122026.pdf: "the $85 billion merger is pending approval by the Surface Transportation Board"
- [confirms] SEC EDGAR (EN, filing, published 2026-02-06) https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/100885/000010088526000037/unp-20251231.htm: "entered into an agreement and plan of merger"
- [confirms] Alpha Economy (KO, news, published 2025-09-15) https://kr.investing.com/news/stock-market-news/article-1631248: "The acquisition is valued at approximately $72 billion, or about KRW 99 trillion."

### 웹텍 (high)  → /wabtec.md
- metric: Contract value $1.2B · Q4 2025 agreement · Total value of the AC4400 locomotive modernization agreement
- note: Union Pacific signed an agreement with Wabtec to modernize its AC4400 locomotives. The agreement was signed in the fourth quarter of 2025, with deliveries expected to begin in 2027.
- [confirms] Union Pacific (EN, ir, published 2026-02-04) https://www.up.com/press-releases/service/wabtec-modernize-locomotives-260204: "signed a landmark agreement totaling $1.2 billion"

### Progress Rail (high)
- metric: Count 10 locomotives · 2022 order · Battery-electric locomotives Union Pacific agreed to purchase from Progress Rail
- note: Union Pacific agreed to purchase 10 battery-electric locomotives from Caterpillar subsidiary Progress Rail. The contract value was not disclosed.
- [confirms] Caterpillar (EN, ir, published 2022-01-28) https://www.caterpillar.com/en/news/corporate-press-releases/h/caterpillar-supply-locomotives-union-pacific.html: "Union Pacific Railroad will purchase 10 battery-electric locomotives from Progress Rail"

### 마틴 마리에타 머티리얼스 (mid)  → /martin-marietta-materials.md
- note: Union Pacific receives railroad ballast from Martin Marietta and describes the company as its largest ballast supplier, but does not disclose the transaction value.
- [confirms] Union Pacific (EN, news, published 2016-09-16) https://www.up.com/aboutup/community/inside_track/martin-marietta-9-16-2016.htm: "Martin Marietta also is Union Pacific's largest supplier of ballast."

### 벌컨 머티리얼스 (mid)  → /vulcan-materials-company.md
- note: Union Pacific lists Vulcan Materials' Table Mountain, California, and Knippa, Texas, operations as approved railroad ballast suppliers, with the transaction value undisclosed.
- [confirms] Union Pacific Railroad (EN, ir, published 2026-08-11) https://www.up.com/emp/engineering/mapcontent/standards/track%20standard%20drawings/WHATS_NEW.pdf: "VULCAN MATERIALS CO. - KNIPPA"

Reverse side: https://valuechain.wiki/union-pacific/customers.md · Ripple: https://valuechain.wiki/union-pacific/ripple.md

---
Full node: https://valuechain.wiki/union-pacific.md · JSON: https://valuechain.wiki/union-pacific.json